"Who says my poems are poems?

My poems are not poems.

When you know that my poems

are not poems,

then we can speak of poetry."

Ryōkan (1758-1831), Zen hermit-poet

Frank Inzan Owen

Frank Inzan Owen (隠山, Hidden Mountain) is a Wayfarer of a Nature-oriented contemplative path shaped by aspects of philosophical Daoism, solitary Sōtō Zen, and mountains-and-forest spirituality. This animistic-contemplative spirituality, in turn, exerts a strong influence upon his poetry and evolving creative life.

In addition to mountains, forests, rivers, and the teachings embedded within the four seasons, his poetry draws inspiration from dreams, the Jungian view of the soul, and "practice-hints" found in the lives and works of various Wayfaring poets.

He resides in the Appalachian Piedmont of north-central Georgia ("foot of the mountain"), near the Chattahoochee River, within the ancestral territory of the Aniyvwiya (Principal People, Cherokee). When not tending a year-round organic garden or hillwalking, he facilitates a form of innerwork he calls contemplative soulwork through his organization that bears the same name as his first book of poetry, The School of Soft-Attention


His poetry over the years has been a blend of styles, ranging from retrospective free verse and haiku to experimental dream poems. His first three books of poetry, published under his birth name (Frank LaRue Owen), includes The School of Soft-Attention, The Temple of Warm Harmony, and Stirrup of the Sun & Moon, all published by Homebound Publications.

In the Spring of 2017, The School of Soft-Attention was selected as the winner of the 2017 Homebound Publications Poetry Prize and garnered a Silver Nautilus Book Award in 2018.

Also in 2018, one of the poems from The School of Soft-Attention, "The Bouquet of the Last Direction," was nominated for a Pushcart Prize.

His second book of poetry, The Temple of Warm Harmony, released in August 2019, was nominated in 2020 for a Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award.

The last book in the series with Homebound Publications, Stirrup of the Sun & Moon, was released in April 2020.